Book Reviews

Dealing with the Devil (Review)

34505196

Title: Dealing with the Devil

Series: The Earthwalker Trilogy book 1

Author: Jennifer Siddoway

Published: May 7, 2017

Rating:  4.5 out of 5 stars

Published by Duncurra LLC

Purchase from Amazon

 

 

Blurb:

Fight. Like. HELL.

Wynnona Hendricks has some shocking surprises in store. Struggling to figure out her comatose mother’s secret, Wynn gets more than she bargained for, and ends up caught between the realms of Heaven, Hell, and Earth, fighting for her life.

Family and friends are stunned by her bizarre behavior; the only one who believes in her is Caleb, an angel who chose to spare her life . But by saving her, he may have started a war between the factions, throwing the Mortal Realm into mayhem. Wynn discovers new allies, new enemies—including her own human weakness—and new powers as she fights to protect her family from being ripped apart.

 

Here we go!


First of all, look at that blurb, and that cover. Freaking beautiful. I was pulled in from the moment I began this beauty. Ugh, seriously though. That is one hell of a beautiful cover.

Okay, there is another reason why I was pulled in. The moment the author told me this was a modern twist on the story of Rumplestiltskin, oh boy, I was throwing up some “gimmie-please” hands. I’m addicted to fairy-tales (I have an obsession with Once Upon a Time), so I already had a feeling this was going to be something I would enjoy.

In the beginning, I had some Mara Dyer vibes. I’m not sure why, but it might have been something in the atmosphere of the world Jennifer Siddoway created (I love Mara Dyer by the way.)

Jennifer Siddoway’s cast of characters are intriguing and engaging. I couldn’t help but feel for Wynn. Her poor mom was in an unknown coma, and this mental (albeit attractive) man appears out of nowhere in her room and offers her a way to help save her mom. For a price. If there is one thing I learned from Once Upon a Time it’s that Magic Always Comes with a Price. Sorry, Wynn, but agreeing to help this guy wasn’t a good idea in the first place. Don’t get me wrong, I totally understand her reasoning. If someone offered me a way to save my mom, you damn-well better believe I will take it. Except … he didn’t fully give Wynn a choice.

You need to give this book a read. Trust me, it’s a story you won’t want to put down. And I’ve only just mentioned what happened in the first couple chapters, guys. Add this on your list. Now. I haven’t even mentioned the other bits of magic, and the necklace that called this guy to Wynn’s side.

I received a free copy of this and volunteered to review it. Thank you so much for the opportunity, Jennifer, to read your addicting book! I can’t wait to see what happens next. 🙂

About the Author:

Jennifer is an author from Tallahassee, Florida who writes paranormal romance and fantasy novels for young adults. She is a member of both Gulf Coast Authors and the Florida Writers Association.

After receiving a degree in theatre and working as a scenic artist for twelve years, she changed careers to do what she really loves—writing. Jennifer believes that part of her job as an artist and story teller is to create a narrative that explores a fresh perspective and leaves the audience thinking.

Even as a child, she has always been intrigued by Grimm’s Fairy Tales and particularly enjoys a twist on an established plotline. When she’s not busy writing or burying her nose in a book, Jennifer enjoys doing medieval reenactment with her husband and two children.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15375986.Jennifer_Siddoway

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jensiddoway/

Leave a Reply

