Book Reviews

Review: Bedlam

bedlam

Title: Bedlam

Series: Twisted Hearts

Author: Autumn Sand

Published: November 13th 2015

Pages: 351 pages

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Published by Drop One Publications

 

Synopsis:

All Anaya has ever wanted was to feel loved and to have a family of her own. She thought she had that in her 12-year relationship with Ignacio, but it couldn’t be further from the truth. And then she meets HIM. The 6’3,” dark-haired man with the most brilliant topaz eyes she has ever seen enters her life and turns her world upside-down.

Tony never expected the brown-eyed beauty to set his soul on fire. Anaya has become Tony’s salvation, his world, his ANGEL. Her light shines brightly in his dim life and has given him hope for a future. But there are things from his past that have a grip on him and prevent him from moving forward to a brighter existence with her.

Will his secrets and lies destroy them before they have a chance at a fresh start? Or will Ignacio be their ultimate downfall? The one thing that Tony knows is that he will die before he lets anything happen to her.

 

 

Warning for readers of this book, this book has mentions of rape, domestic violence, and other similar themes.

Now that that is out of the way. HOLY HELL.

It took me longer than I wanted to finish reading this, only because I had other books that needed to be read and reviewed first. When I started Bedlam, I wasn’t sure what to think. I knew it was going to be a form of romance novel, but I did not know what was coming.

I was blown away. Bedlam was completely addicting, and it is such a quick read. There isn’t a single part of this book that is slow moving or dull. Autumn Sand does a stunning job with these characters.

Anaya I was not sure if I would like her at first, but I started to love her. She had a rough life growing up, same with our other leading character Tony. Anaya is an interior designer tasked with re-designing Tony Delaney’s club Pulse. She lives with her boyfriend of twelve years, who is a total and utter prick. I hate Iggy with a steaming passion. Anaya has quite an obnoxious friend named Rheda who (once you read Bedlam you’ll understand why I feel this way) is such a MASSIVE UGH. I am not even sorry. I absolutely hated the witch. Just thinking about her makes me angry.

Tony. Oh. My. Gosh. Hello, Mr. Sexy. I imagined Tony looking like Keanu Reeves as he played in John Wick. Damn. Not only does Tony run Pulse, but he’s involved in a little underworld business. His two main men are Tick (who is one of the leading characters in Autumn Sand’s next book in the Twisted Hearts series Mayhem), and Manny. I absolutely love Manny. He completely tickles me and I would certainly not mind a book surrounding him. He’s precious.

Tony and Anaya are a fabulous couple in the end, and I love them together. Anaya is Tony’s Angel. Though Tony calls her the nickname more than enough for the endearment to seem a little unused, I came to expect it from him. Overall, I think I would have felt a little weird if he had stopped calling her it. It was cute. Tony really did fall for Anaya, and she for him.

Bedlam was a fantastic debut novel despite some of the intense scenes and the other items mentioned above (I may have cringed several times).

 

About the Author:

18768378_452629925085845_945147219466904945_o

Autumn Sands was born and raised in New York City. Considering herself a true New Yorker in every way from the restaurants that she eats to the shoe fetish she has. Oh yes at one time Autumn has had a shoe collection of 300 and has the credit card statements to prove it. Other than shoe shopping she has various interests such as reading, writing, and traveling. Autumn has worked in the fashion industry for most of her adult life before pursuing writing. She is reluctant to call herself an author but considers herself a person who writes words that people just so happen to like to read. As you can tell Autumn has a sarcastic sense of humor and loves to make her friends laugh in all occasions. She enjoys a good glass of wine but her go to drink of choice is a Jack Daniels and coke with a twist of lime. None of those froufrou girlie drinks for her.

Follow her on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Autumnsandauthor/

Follow her on Goodreads:
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14547787.Autumn_Sand

3 thoughts on “Review: Bedlam

Leave a Reply

