Book Reviews

Review: The Crawling Terror (Doctor Who)

IMG_20170505_215533

Title: Doctor Who: The Crawling Terror

Author: Mike Tucker

Published: September 9th 2014

Pages: 256 pages

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 extraterrestrial stars

Published by Broadway Books

 

Synopsis:

Gabby Nichols is putting her son to bed when she hears her daughter cry out. ‘Mummy there’s a daddy longlegs in my room!’ Then the screaming starts… Alan Travers is heading home from the pub when something rushes his face — a spider’s web. Then something huge and deadly lumbers from the shadows… Kevin Alperton is on his way to school when he is attacked by a mosquito. A big one. Then things get dangerous.

But it isn’t the dead man cocooned inside a huge mass of web that worries the Doctor. It isn’t the swarming, mutated insects that make him nervous. It isn’t an old man’s garbled memories of past dangers that intrigue him.

With the village cut off from the outside world, and the insects becoming more and more dangerous, the Doctor knows that no one is safe. Not unless he can decode the strange symbols engraved on an ancient stone circle, and unravel a mystery dating back to the Second World War.

 

!Doo wee oooh!

First of all, this book was mental. Giant bugs? Get me the hell out of here. I would have DIED. I hate bugs. Imagine giant roaches. I’m having a heart-attack just thinking about it. Good God, help us all.

This was the most recent buddy read I did with my friend Brooklyn (follow her at brooklynthebookworm!), and not the first Doctor Who book we’ve read with 12. And 12 is one of my favorites. I love him to death. But thus far, most of the books with 12 had not been able to collect and portray his personality very well in book-form, which broke my heart. There was one we read recently that was simply dreadful, and I never give two-star ratings. The only good thing about that book was the beautiful cover. Other than that, I wanted to cry. That’s how dreadful it was. Like, beyond horrid. It was all over the place. Even Clara was well written, and the side characters were fabulous. I love seeing how different people react to the Doctor.

But thankfully, that wasn’t the case with The Crawling Terror. This book was action filled from the moment it began. And I kid you not, we essentially didn’t learn where these monsters bugs were coming from until more than halfway through the book. I honestly thought people were making bugs genetically bigger, which is what everything made me lean towards, but that wasn’t the case!

Most of them were bloody aliens. Aliens supposedly outcast from their society and were searching for a new planet to inhabit. Sounds like a lot of Doctor Who episodes, so the plot fit in with the universe perfectly.

Brooklyn and I talked about this a lot, but I kid you not, guys. The action never stopped. It was there right up until the very end, and when I mean end, I mean like the last chapter. Even the epilogue was a little bit there too. But I won’t spoil it for you.

If you’re a history buff like Brooklyn and I are, you’ll enjoy this. And if you’re in love with 12, like me, definitely give this a read. I’d probably advise not at night, in case of when you put and down and try to sleep and begin to imagine the noises of giant bugs coming for you. Or maybe that was just me. My cat staring blankly at a wall wasn’t helping any.

About the Author:

mike tuckerMike Tucker is a special effects expert who worked for many years at the BBC Television Visual Effects Department, and now works as an Effects Supervisor for his own company, The Model Unit. He is also the author of a number of original tv tie-in Doctor Who novels (some co-written with Robert Perry), and three books based on episodes of the television series Merlin. He co-wrote the factual books Ace! The Inside Story of the End of an Era with Sophie Aldred in 1996, and BBC VFX – The Story of the BBC Visual Effects Department with Mat Irvine in 2010.

Follow him on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/miketuckerauthor/

Leave a Reply

